Arts & Literature

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Centre

Comprehensive full-text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today. This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas for hobby enthusiasts. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and many more.

LitFinder

Covers world literature and authors throughout history. It contains over 150,000 full-text poems, 800,00+ poetry citations, plus short stories, speeches, and plays.

Library
Home

NoveList (Plus)

Novelist is designed to help readers connect with great books. Using Novelist, you can enter a favorite title, author, series, or plot element, and find an extensive listing of suggested titles that you might also enjoy. Or if you already have a favorite genre, use Novelist to browse lists of books in that category to find authors and titles you might have missed.

For Home Use
For Library Use

Business, Finance & Law

Gale Legal Forms

Provides a wide selection of legal forms (including those specific to Indiana) across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

(EBSCO): The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, topics include medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (General)

Value Line Investment Survey

The Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. Provides a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 98 industries, the stock market, and the economy.

Home
Library  

Want more information on Value Line Options? Watch this tutorial: 

eBooks and eAudiobooks

Accelerated Reader (AR)

Looking for Accelerated Reader (AR) books for school? Read the Books will help you find the right book to read. 

Read the Books gives links to local AR lists and also lists books by series, author, and topic to make it easy for kids to find accessible, interesting reading material. 

Freegal Music

Freegal is downloadable music service which provides access to the catalog of artists in Sony Music Entertainment. Library cardholders can download five songs a week with their library barcode and pin number. Freegal works with any MP3 device. Click above for more info! 

Freegal FAQ's: 

Is it really free? Yes, it's really free! As long as you have a Muncie Public Library card, they are free to you as a member of the library.
How many songs can I download? Freegal gives you five free songs a week. Your download counter resets every Monday morning so you can download more. 
Can I keep the songs? Every MP3 is yours to keep. You can load them in iTunes or Windows Media Player, put them on your MP3 player or even burn them to a CD.

Google Books

Offers a free search of millions of titles of books, featuring many relevant research books. 

Hoopla

hoopla is an innovative new service that partners with your local public library to bring you thousands of movies, television, music, and audiobook titles for free. There are no costs or hassles. All you need is a library card and a web browser, phone, or tablet. 

OverDrive (Indiana Digital Media)

Borrow eBooks, audiobooks, and more from your local public library - anywhere, anytime. All you need is a library card.

Project Gutenberg

Over 40,000 free ebooks, most in the public domain. Choose among ePub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Reader's Advisor Online

A complete resource covering all aspects of the printed word. Find new books and authors based on your interests. Read about books, authors, and the publishing industry.

Tumblebooks

TumblePremium collection has over 1000 titles and is perfect for public libraries and elementary schools, with content most appropriate for those in grades K-6. It includes videos, animated books, books in French and Spanish and math stories.

Genealogy & Biography

Ancestry Library

Ancestry Library

A genealogy resource containing approximately 4000 databases of census; vital; church; court; emigration/immigration records; birth; marriage & death records; military records; census & voter records; and immigration & emigration records. Content ranges from the 13th to the 21st century and provides billions of indexed names. In addition to coverage for the United States and the United Kingdom, there are record collections for Canada, Europe and Australia. Available from Library only.

World Vital Records

WorldVitalRecords.com was founded in 2006 to provide simple and affordable access to more than 4.2 billion names in family history record collections worldwide

Health & Wellness

Consumer Health Complete

A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. 

Newspapers and Magazines

The New York Times

Access to full New York Times current edition and archives from 1851-1922 and 1981-current.

We offer unlimited use of NYtimes.com while inside the library. First time users will need to set up an account.

For home use, we offer 72 hour access available here

Reference & Research

Directory of Indiana Grantmakers

The Directory of Indiana Grantmakers is an online database with profiles of approximately 1,000 funders awarding grants in Indiana. Users can search for grantmakers by keyword, area of interest, or type of support. This database is available only at Maring-Hunt Library. Interested users should visit the Information Desk for access. 

For more help with the grant seeking process, our Information Desk staff will help you locate books and get you started searching databases (appointments are recommended). We also offer workshops for community and non-profit groups for more in-depth training.

Call 765-741-7331 or e-mail Laura Janiga at [email protected] to make an appointment or inquire about upcoming workshops.

DoxPop

Public Records at your fingertips! DoxPop has current court cases and recorded documents for many Indiana counties (including Delaware County). Please see Librarian at the Information Desk to log in. 

Explora

Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users,  supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

Foundation Center Resources for Grant Writing

Muncie Public Library is a member of The Foundation Center's Funding Information Network (FIN). Foundation Center databases allow non-profit organizations, artists, researchers, and others locate potential foundation, corporate, and government funders. With the library's databases and Fundraising Collection, you can view foundations' IRS 990-PF tax documents, find organizations whose areas of interest match yours, learn to write strong grant applications, improve non-profit management skills, learn new fundraising strategies, work with boards and volunteers and follow trends in philanthropy, and more.

Get started by choosing a database below: 

(Database access is at Maring-Hunt Library only)

  • Foundation Directory Online allows non-profit organizations seeking grants to search thousands of funding organizations and programs, view application guidelines, analyze successful grant projects, view IRS 990-PF tax returns, and more. 

  • Foundation Grants to Individuals allows individual grantseekers such as students, artists, researchers to search thousands of funding organizations for scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships; search by school or corporation.

Our Information Desk staff will help you locate books and get you started searching the databases (appointments are recommended). We also will offer workshops for community and non-profit groups for more in-depth training. 

Call 765-741-7331 or e-mail Laura Janiga at [email protected] to make an appointment or inquire about upcoming workshops. To search for other FIN locations and training opportunities worldwide, visit Grantspace.org.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Encyclopedias and other reference resources on a wide range of subjects, from art, business, and history to literature, medicine, and science.

Indiana County Histories

Indiana county histories and atlases database from Archives Unbound spans Indiana history from 1857-1922.

Inspire

This resource is Indiana's Virtual Library. It offers access to over 40 databases covering subjects like biographies, magazine and scholarly journal articles, newspapers articles (most recent 30 days), poetry, and short stories. The Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) has a career interest test, practice tests for SAT, GED, AP, LSAT, GRE, GMAT and other tests for high school, college, and graduate school. Biography Resource Center allows searching for many short biographies. Litfinder finds full text of many poems and stories. Other resources include Kids Search, What Tree Is That?, and Indiana Memory.

INSPIRE is a service of the Indiana State Library. INSPIRE is supported by the Indiana General Assembly through Build Indiana Funds, The Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act and in partnership with the Academic Libraries of Indiana.

Muncie/Delaware County Digital Resource Library

Muncie Public Library has been digitizing Muncie and Delaware County records since the 1990s and provides the Muncie/Delaware County Digital Resource Library for free (no library card required!).  Collections include Delaware County Court Documents, Delaware County Wills, Delaware County Deeds, Obituary Index, Funeral Home Records, and Beech Grove Cemetery Records.

Researching Birth, Death & Marriage Records

Research guides for birth, marriage and death records in Delaware County, Indiana.  Find out what resources are available at Carnegie Library.

Researching Your House History

Do you live in an interesting or historic home? Researching the history of a house in Muncie is a popular endeavor at the Local History & Genealogy Center. We have several resources to assist you with your research including city directories, deeds, newspapers, court documents, census records and more.

WorldCat

WorldCat includes records for most public and academic libraries around the world that have online catalogs and at least some holdings in English. (Over 9000 libraries are represented!)